Author: Jenny Lyons


and the winner is……

Spacebus Z

 CEOs Victoria Farrant and Brian Kong
The Charter School
Littleover Community School
St Olave’s Grammar School
The Waid Academy



Congratulations to all of the amazing students that took place in the 2018 finals – you are all winners for getting there!

The following twelve students have been selected to represent the UK in the International Space Settlement Design Competition. This will take place at the Kennedy Space Center at the end of July.

UK Team (in alphabetical order)

Shayne Beeghadur     St Olave’s Grammar School

Leo Bennett                   St Olave’s Grammar School

Eve Bracken-Ingram   Waid Academy

David Evans                  St Olave’s Grammar School

Jonathan Haehner     Waid Academy

Rory Hamilton            Waid Academy

Ellie Hotopf                 The Charter School

Nadiya Ivahnenko      St Olave’s Grammar School

Daniel Millett             The Charter School

Orlagh Simpson         Littleover Community School

Freddie Skerrett         St Olave’s Grammar School

Jai Wall                       The Charter School

Reserves (in order)

1st  reserve   Struan Anderson  Waid Academy

2nd reserve   Kayleigh Hoang                St Olave’s Grammar School

3rd reserve   Laura Johnston                Waid Academy

4th reserve   Gregoire Dastros-Pitei  St Olave’s Grammar School








Video Competition Results

Thank you to all the video entrants – you gave our judges a difficult task.

If you were unsuccessful, please try again next year. If you are off to university, or on a gap year, we would welcome you as an alumni at our regional competitions. Please join our facebook site, and look out for details.

The results for the 2018 Video Competition are as follows:
The four teams invited to the finals are, (in alphabetical order),
City of London School for Girls
Derby Grammar School
Nonsuch High School for Girls
St Olave’s (Purple Nebula)
Runners up ( the following, in order, will form the reserve teams, or will be invited if funding is secured)
5th      City of London Freemens
6th      Bournemouth School for Girls
7th      High School of Glasgow
8th      Bede’s Senior School
9th      St Mary Redcliffe
10th = King Edward VI School, Stourbridge
           Westminster School


The Regionals are over…..

…..but the Video Competition can still earn places in the final!

If you were unable to join us in the Regionals, or didn’t gain a place in the final, please consider sending in a video. You have until December the 18th to submit your work. (Please email if you need any information)