Author: Jenny Lyons

2019 UKSDC

Team selected from the winning competition to represent the…

Congratulations to the following students who have been selected to represent the UK at the International Space Settlement Design Competition at the Kennedy Space Center in July

Jan Apolin – Bedes

Maria Uringa – Waid Academy

Finn Ractliffe – Bedes

Rory Hamilton – Waid Academy

Eve Bracken-Ingram –  Waid Academy

Shubhangi Mehta – Henrietta Barnett

Harry Alcock – Dulwich College

Vishaan Khanna – Dulwich College

Jackson Lam – Dulwich College

Tim Scott-Rutt – Bedes

Lauren Chong  – Henrietta Barnet

Daisy Penn-Ripley – Waid Academy

1 Sam Leonard – Bedes

2 Timothy Moulding – Dulwich College

3 Payal Shah – Henrietta Barnet

The following students have been chosen to represent the EU team – their places are subject to securing their own funding.


1 Saffron Zainchokovaskaya
2 Charlie Warrington –


1  Claudia Rogers
2  Angelina Palmer


1 Poppy McPeake

2 Naomi Ogunkola


1 Charles Davies

2 Rebecca Pilcher


1 Freddie Skerrett

2 James Hayes


1 Shaun Sanu

2 William Laver


1 Bartholemew Wardell

2 Joe Lathan


1 Karim Awad

2 Alexandra Neagu

2019 UKSDC

UK Space Design Competition 2019 Winning Company

A team of students have just been crowned the winners of the 2019 UK Space Design Competition, following a busy weekend (16-17th March) of designing at Imperial College London.

This year’s competition saw 250 young people, aged 15 to 18, from all over the UK take on the challenge of designing a space settlement in orbit around the Earth-Luna L5 libration point, with the added twist that they had to imagine themselves in the year 2054! All the students had previously won either a regional or video competition and so some of the UK’s best and brightest were split into companies and put under pressure to produce a design during two days of competition.

Working in companies of 50, the students combined their scientific knowledge, creativity, intuition and research skills to create a design fulfilling an industry style Request For Proposal (RFP). The RFP is a detailed specification set by the judges explaining what they are looking for. At the end of the design time, companies then had to present their proposals to the judges and other companies,  followed by a gruelling session of questioning.

Every year, the judges are impressed by the wealth of technological understanding and innovation that students present; ideas that could one day be applied in the UK space industry.

From the winning team of the national competition, 12 will then be invited to represent the UK at the International Space Settlement Design Competition at NASA Kennedy Space.

Organiser Dr Randall Perry said: “It’s been a fantastic weekend of innovation and excellence. We’ve had it all this weekend; from advanced robotics to porta-loo escape pods – it truly has been a fun weekend. Ultimately, there can only be one winner and the team that did win displayed ideas that not only met the specification, but also were innovative. I wish the 12 that get selected to represent the UK at NASA the best of luck.”

The president of the winning company, Jan Apolin, 18, from East Sussex, said: “I kind of don’t believe what’s happening but now I’ve finally won I’m so happy. I’ve been a part of this competition for 2 years and to finally win the national finals is great. It would be an honour to represent the UK and I want to thank all of my team for their hard work. Now I’ve got to go and find my voice! I’ve never screamed with happiness so much!”

The international competition follows a similar format but sees the students working with others from all around the globe for three days to produce an even more detailed design.

For more information visit


Video Competition Results 2019

Thank you for all of the great videos you sent in – once again you have impressed with your intelligence, imagination and enthusiasm. The lengthy deliberations of the judges are finally over, and the following are their selection to join the finals in March:

(in alphabetical order)

Bournemouth School for Girls’
The Brooksbank School
Drummond High School
Henrietta Barnett
Oxford International College
St Mary Redcliffe
Francis Holland

Runners up

Nonsuch High School (you will be notified if any places become available)


Craigmount ( Team Vortesa)


The EU team and reserves

The following have been invited to join the EU team. This is not funded by the UKSDC, and individuals will be expected to find their own sources of funding. We will happily advise on potential sources of funding if requested.

Dougeldyne (in alphabetical order)

  Georgia Aspinall – The Brooksbank School

   Corinne Barker – The Brooksbank School

   Emyr Williams – Dulwich College

Dougeldyne reserves(in order):

   Andre Nowaczek – Dulwich College

   Benjamin Miller – Dulwich College

   Emily Swift – Bournemouth School for Girls

Grumbo (in alphabetical order)

   Sherry Deng – Cardiff Sixth Form College

  Molly Fisher-Newton – Bede’s School

  Felix Larner – St Paul’s Catholic College

Grumbo reserves  (in order):

Amaan Abbas – Cardiff Sixth Form

Tim Scott-Ruit – Bede’s School

Michael Crummey – St Paul’s Catholic College

Rockdonnell (in alphabetical order)

 Bruce Lay – St Mary Redcliffe and Temple School

 William Edwards – Trinity School of John Whitgift

 Ana Vukasovic – Kingham Hill School

Rockdonnell reserves (in order):

  Anastasia Sheptitskaya – Francis Holland School

   James Reid – Trinity School of John Whitgift

  Thomas Hudson – Woodchurch High School

Vulture (in alphabetical order)

Hugo Binelli-Thomas – Ardingley College

Sophia Lee Roberts – City of London School for Girls

Annabelle York – Nonsuch High School for Girls     

Reserves (in order):

Abigail Horton – Ardingley College

Tom Hobbs –  City of London Freemen’s School

Anahita Laverack – City of London School for Girls